top of page

Traditional Martial Arts Training , Progressive Martial Arts Training or Both?

With the undeniable progress martial arts has made over the years , and the introduction of video and multi media , training methods have evovled a great deal . Some say training the old way is pointless nowadays , while others say the traditional way is best . A third group is of the philosophy that both traditional and progressive training methods combined brings the best of both worlds to your personal training program. I find myself in the third catagory as I trained for years in kickboxing and BJJ/Grappling and was very much into the MMA movement in 1990 , but having studied Filipino Martial Arts , Kung Fu , Tai Chi and Jeet Kune Do , I have seen the benefits both in and outside the ring ( especially in street situations ) the traditional arts can bring . So I teach my students both methods as I feel it will give them a balanced education in the arts that they can take in any direction they prefer but with an open mind.What are your thoughts on this topic and please keep it constructive , thank you.

Below is a picture of Master Gilbert Yvel who is a icon in the MMA pro fighting arena and fought professionally for years , but while in Vegas he met my teachers he really liked Lama Kung Fu and Kali and blended it very successfully with his MMA game.

The picture on the bottom is my Sifu Jacks first Lama Kung Fu school in Chicago in the 70s

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page